[* include file="header.htm" *]
ATTRACTION & AREA INFORMATION  

Our Route 1 location in Scarborough, Maine places the Americas Best Value Inn ( Formerly Millbrook Motel) at central point to local attractions. Whatever your interest, age, there's something for everyone.

For those who love the ocean... there's Casco Bay and its beaches, Fort Williams and Portland Headlight. For those looking for a little culture...there's the city of Portland, Maine (also famous for historic old port) with its museums and fine restaurants, and the quaint shops of the Old Port. For some of the best outlet shopping... visit nearby Freeport, Maine and L.L. Bean, and Kittery Outlet, Maine. For a little more excitement... there's harness and auto racing, golf, amusement and water parks.

Maine Tourism - http://www.visitmaine.com/home.php
Maine state tourism organization.

Scarborough - http://www.scarborough.me.us/about.html
Scarborough town info

Portland - http://www.visitportland.com/visitors.aspx
Portland is the largest city in the state and is located about 5 miles to the north. The Old Port is a beautiful area of shops, bars and restaurants.

Portland Headlight/Ft. Williams - http://www.portlandheadlight.com/
One of the most photographed lighthouses in the world and only a 10 minute drive away.

Maine Innkeepers Association - http://www.maineinns.com/
Association of Maine lodging establishments.

Funtown USA - http://www.funtownsplashtownusa.com/
This is one of the largest amusement & water parks in New England and is located about 7 miles from the motel.

Aquaboggan - http://www.aquabogganwaterpark.com/
This a waterpark with minigolf and some other activities located about 7 mile away.

Palace Playland - http://www.palaceplayland.com/
This beachfront amusement park is at the heart of the Old Orchard Beach "downtown" area .

Vacationland Bowling - http://www.vacationlandbowling.com/
New England candle pin bowling with neon lights and rails for the kids, or great adult fun too.

Children's Museum of Maine - http://kitetails.com/index.html
One of the highest rated in the country, not to be missed.

Portland Museum of Art - http://www.portlandmuseum.org/
Wonderful gem in downtown Portland. Extensive Winslow Homer collection.

Wildlife Park - http://www.state.me.us/ifw/education/wildlifepark/
Great for kids! Interactive exhibits, live animals, low admission fee.

SANDY BEACHES & PARKS

Old Orchard Beach - http://www.oldorchardbeachmaine.com/index.htm
This is a very popular beach town with 7 miles of great beach and a Coney Island feel. It is 5 miles from the motel and has lots of public parking.

Southern Maine Beach Guide - http://www.visitmaine.net/beaches.htm
Closest beaches are Pine Point and Old Orchard, both within 5 minutes.

Two Lights State Park - http://www.state.me.us/cgi-bin/doc/parks/find_one_name.pl?park_id=28
Beautiful picnic spot with breathtaking views of the rocky coastline. (no beach)

LOCAL AREA SHOPPING

Cabela's- www.Cabelas.com
The world's foremost outfitter. A must see for the outdoor sportsman. Other shop includes Golf, Pet

LL Bean - http://www.llbean.com/
This store is always open and staffed by experts in all areas of activities. Located about a 20 minute drive to the north.

Freeport Outlets - http://www.freeportusa.com/
Over 170 upscale outlet shops. About a half hour north.

Maine Mall - http://www.mainemall.com/html/storedirectory.asp
Largest mall in northern New England. Located about 10 minutes from the motel.

Kittery Outlets - http://www.thekitteryoutlets.com/
Home to the Kittery Trading Post and many others. About a half hour south.

GOLFING

Maine Golf Directory - http://www.visitmaine.net/golf.htm
Closest ones are Willowdale in Scarborough and Dunegrass in Old Orchard Beach.

Nonesuch River - http://www.nonesuchgolf.com/

Sable Oaks - http://www.sableoaks.com/

Willowdale - http://www.willowdalegolf.com/welcome.aspx
207-883-9351

Dunegrass - http://www.dunegrass.com/
207-934-4513

Gorham Country Club - http://www.gorhamcountryclub.com/
207-839-3490

RESTAURANTS

Portland Area Restaurant Guide & Reviews - http://www.foodinportland.com/

RACETRACKS

Scarborough Downs http://www.scarboroughdowns.com/
Live harness racing, simulcast wagering, and nice clubhouse dining at trackside.

Beech Ridge Speedway - http://www.beechridge.com/
NASCAR stock car racing on a 1/3 mile oval. Also hosts Busch North Series and Featherlite Modifieds.

MOVIES

Cinemagic - http://www.cinemagicmovies.com/showtimes_saco_index.html
Route One Saco - 207-282-6234

Hoyts Clarks Pond - By Maine Mall in So. Portland - 207-879-1511

DAY/OVERNIGHT TRIPS

Acadia National Park - http://www.nps.gov/acad/home.htm
The hidden jewel of the National Park System located about a 3 hour drive to the northeast, but well worth the trip.

Bar Harbor - http://www.vacationbarharbor.com/
Beautiful island town near Acadia National Park

Camden - http://www.camdenme.org/
A beautiful mid-coast town with many tall ships, shops, and restaurants. About 1.5 hour drive, mid way to Acadia National Park.

TRANSPORTATION

Amtrak Downeaster - http://www.thedowneaster.com/
There is train service to the area by Amtrak out of Boston's North Station and many other stops in between.

Portland Jetport - http://www.portlandjetport.org/
This is the regional airport in the area served by many airlines with direct flights from most eastern US hubs.

Casco Bay Ferry - http://www.cascobaylines.com/
A great way to see the coast of Maine or visit one of the hundreds of Casco Bay islands.

Cat Ferry - http://www.catferry.com
CAT Ferry to Nova Scotia, where you can take your car!



[* include file="footer.htm" *]